Te Whānau Awahou o Te Aka Pūkāea

Level 2 Māori-Medium

All students who live within the home zone and who meet the reo capacity criteria for entry into the special programme will be enrolled ahead of out of zone students.

Te Whānau Awahou o Te Aka Pūkāea is also based on kaupapa Māori principles, practices and pedagogy and operates a Level 2 Maori medium programme, which means 51 – 80% of the curriculum is taught in te reo Māori in Years 1 – 2, and a Level 1 Maori medium programme, which means 81 – 100% is taught in te reo Māori in Years 3 – 6.

Each year level has an unique name pertaining to surrounding waterways:

Year 0 – Te Wai a Te Ao

Year 1 – Te Waiōrea

Year 2 – Waikuta

Year 3 – Waihorotiu

Year 4 – Waipārūrū

Year 5 – Waikōhanga

Year 6 – Te Wai Inuroa a Raka

Special Programme Enrolment Entry Criteria

Entry criteria is determined by a process we call tono, in which an interview takes place between the applicant whānau, the staff and current whānau representatives. Decision on entry will be based on the following:

Whilst the level of reo your child currently has, will not determine entry into the programme for younger children, there must be acceptance that Awahou is a Māori medium pathway and that acquisition of reo Māori is a priority.

There must also be a commitment from at least one member of the applicant whānau, to continue to grow and develop their reo Māori, alongside their tamaiti, and a growing capacity to use te reo Māori in the home everyday.

A commitment from parents to take an active role in their child’s education throughout their child’s attendance at school by contributing to the unique nature of the special programme. This will involve regular attendance at hui whānau and whānau initiated activities.


If there are more applicants than there are places available, selection within the priority group must be by a ballot conducted in accordance with instructions issued by the Secretary under section 11G (1) of the Education Act 1989.

Search for: